Get into the groove

My apologies for this late monday post…

I talked to my uncle the other day. He is a drummer and great musician. I had sent him a recording of some songs i recorded with my “amateur – rock – cover – band” last week. His opinion of music I value. He has been in the music industry for over 35 years and tells it like it is.  As a vocal coach, I am a big fan of pedagogy. You have probably noticed, that my way of teaching is very process oriented and positive. That way, the singers usually find it easier to leave their comfort zones and try new things. Also – how you express your feed-back is very important to the learning process.

Well…. let me tell ´ya…. my uncle is not like that. He said to me:

“There´s just no groove!!”

and

“You have to feel the music!”

The second comment I know, and agree upon. And I do… I feel the music and so do the rest of the band. But obviously not enough, otherwise he would not say that. We´ll get into that later today.

The first comment he elaborated on by telling me. That we were all very right (correct). We knew our own parts very well. We just did not listen to each other. We need to be tighter as a band and play together. That´s what gives us the groove. When he reminded me of this, I realized, I have been refining my singing and moving. I am working on remembering lyrics and conveying the meaning of the song. When doing so it is good to fokus on one thing at a time. BUT I have to be better at merging my knowledge as soon as possible to get into the groove. Maybe something to think about for you dancers also?

Until later today (for todays post).

 

Leave a comment